Français
Graphic
Tuesday 9 February 2016

Review of Energy Efficiency Directive: strengthen the local energy savings potential

In 2016, the EU Energy Efficiency Directive is bound to be revised. Energy Cities recently responded to a public consultation of the EU Commission on the Energy Efficiency Directive. See here the main points of our response.

The EU Commission recently completed a public consultation process for a review of the Energy Efficiency Directive (EED), to collect views from stakeholders on the framework and policies needed to achieve the EU 2030 energy efficiency target. The EED has been in force since 2012 and while it has contributed to upscaling energy efficiency efforts in the EU, more is still to be done so that the EU will reach its 2030 energy efficiency target. On the current trajectory, the EU will only achieve 17,6% energy efficiency in 2020, thereby already missing its intermediary 2020 energy efficiency target of 20% energy efficiency.

Energy Cities calls for the revised EED to reinforce the role of local authorities, so they can tap into their full energy efficiency potential. Here are, in a nutshell, the recommendations brought forward in our response to the EED consultation.

In our view, the revised EED should address three key issues to harness the local energy efficiency capabilities:

  • Localize energy efficiency policy
  • Redirect investments towards local energy savings
  • Foster the exchange of energy efficiency best practices

Localize energy efficiency policy

The revised Directive should strengthen the EU’s current energy savings trajectory by translating the EU’s energy efficiency ambition by 2030 into binding national targets. In Member States like Hungary, Poland or Cyprus, energy saving measures would have been introduced to a much lesser extent without the EED. Local and regional energy efficiency policies and measures should inform the nationally binding energy efficiency targets. Lawmakers in Member States should monitor how much local energy savings are contributing to the national target. This valuable information could help remove local energy savings bottlenecks.

Data from the 5000 Sustainable Energy Action Plans (SEAPs) submitted by signatories of the Covenant of Mayors could be used to influence and co-design national energy efficiency targets. In Georgia, the ambitious energy efficiency targets of cities’ SEAPs were introduced into the country’s INDC ahead of the COP21 in Paris.

A revised EED that takes fully into account the local energy savings potential should include a specific chapter on local energy efficiency, which particularly emphasizes leveraging high energy-efficient cogeneration and district heating at the local level.

Redirect investments towards local energy savings

Firstly, the EU should be serious about its commitment to decarbonize the energy system by 2050 by introducing in Article 7 of the EED (energy savings obligation) a phase-out plan for fossil fuel subsidies which would be then redirected to local energy efficiency measures, such as the retrofitting of buildings where there is still much work to be done to achieve an annual renovation rate of 3%.

Secondly, the EU should ensure through Article 7 of the EED in particular a long-term stable environment for energy efficiency investments at the local level. Moreover, the EU and the EIB should provide in their funding programs (e.g. Structural Funds, Juncker Plan, ELENA) priority access to local energy efficiency projects and increase technical assistance and capacity-building efforts to local authorities. That way, the latter would acquire the capability to develop bankable energy efficiency projects that provide a solid return rate of investment. Before throwing away billions worth of taxpayers’ money at building new gas infrastructure, the priority must be given to tapping local energy efficiency potential first.

Thirdly, by reforming the Eurostat rules of public debt and deficit, energy efficiency investment by private third parties (energy performance contracting) would no longer be classified as public debt in the account balance of local authorities. Such a move would empower local authorities to drive investment in energy efficiency and become the frontrunners of the transition towards a sustainable and efficient energy system.

Foster the exchange of energy efficiency best practices

A narrow focus on demand response and smart meters will not push the EU and its cities towards tapping into the full local energy efficiency potential. Technology is not the main driver for enhancing energy efficient behavior among citizens. The strongest enabler are local energy efficiency projects that are carried out in close collaboration with citizens and all other stakeholders (local entrepreneurs, house owners, etc.). This can take many forms - from a "race to the energy efficient top" among tenants in the Romanian city of Bistrita to social energy savings projects in Frankfurt am Main in Germany, where formerly homeless people are retrained as energy auditors and help low-income households tap into their energy savings potential. Energy Cities’ members and other local authorities all across Europe have engaged into countless projects and measures that have contributed to energy efficiency and increasing the quality of life for citizens. Energy Cities’ best practice database is full of such success stories!

In the revised EED chapter on local energy efficiency, the EU should strengthen the capacity of city networks and energy efficiency communities not only in promoting best practice local energy efficiency examples across the EU, but also empower them to facilitate knowledge exchange among local authorities so that best practices can be upscaled and replicated across Europe. The EU needs its local authorities to drive forward energy efficiency and the transition to a sustainable energy system - let’s get it done!

Other position papers of Energy Cities can be found here.

Copyright small photo homepage: PhotographyByMK/www.shutterstock.com
Copyright big photo: Figueres Municipality



by David Donnerer on 9 February 2016 / 937 visits




Related articles for EU policies / Politiques de l’UE

Energy Cities President meets Members of European Parliament to discuss role of cities in EU Energy Union governance
by David Donnerer on 13 July 2017 /


Horizon 2020 et Villes Intelligentes: Nos recommandations pour le programme de travail 2018-2020
by David Donnerer on 17 mai 2017 /


Horizon 2020 and Smart Cities: Our recommendations for the work-programme 2018-2020
by David Donnerer on 17 May 2017 /


Les Maires lancent un appel pour une réforme de l’Union européenne axée sur les citoyens.
by Blandine Pidoux on 3 mai 2017 /


Mayors launch call for citizen-oriented overhaul of the EU
by Blandine Pidoux on 3 May 2017 /


Quel avenir pour la politique européenne sur l’efficacité énergétique dans le cadre du "Clean Energy package" ?
by David Donnerer on 2 mai 2017 /


What prospects for EU energy efficiency policy with the Clean Energy Package?
by David Donnerer on 2 May 2017 /


Conference countdown: Last week to register for #stuttgart2017!
by Miriam Eisermann on 10 avril 2017 /


Join us in Stuttgart and learn from your peers in 40 interactive sessions!
by Blandine Pidoux on 9 mars 2017 /


Un Conseil politique de villes pour diriger la Convention des Maires en Europe
by Floriane Cappelletti on 13 février 2017 /


A Political Board of Cities to steer the EU Covenant of Mayors
by Floriane Cappelletti on 13 February 2017 /


Energy Cities presents a brighter, local State of the Energy Union !
by Alix Bolle on 1 February 2017 /


Système d’échange des quotas d’émission de l’UE : le Parlement européen plafonne les investissements locaux éligibles au « Fonds pour la modernisation »
by David Donnerer on 24 January 2017 /


EU Emission Trading System: European Parliament puts a cap on local investments in "Modernisation Fund"
by David Donnerer on 23 January 2017 /


Une feuille de route 2050 (et autres résultats) du projet "Post-carbon cities of tomorrow"
by Blandine Pidoux on 17 janvier 2017 /


An EU Roadmap 2050 (and other results) from the "Post-carbon cities of tomorrow" project
by Blandine Pidoux on 17 janvier 2017 /


Democracy, Decentralisation, Divestment: '3D screening' of the EU Energy Package
by Alix Bolle on 30 November 2016 /


Convention des Maires: Faire des villes des acteurs clés des politiques climat-énergie en Europe
by David Donnerer on 29 November 2016 /


Covenant of Mayors: Transforming Cities into key EU Climate and Energy Actors
by David Donnerer on 29 November 2016 /


#100%ENR - Piste 2 : Tisser de nouveaux partenariats urbain-rural
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 17 novembre 2016 /


La Convention des Maires et Compact of Mayors lancent la plus grande coalition mondiale de villes engagées dans la lutte contre le changement climatique
by Floriane Cappelletti on 24 juin 2016 /


EU Covenant of Mayors and Compact of Mayors launch largest global coalition of cities committed to fighting climate change
by Floriane Cappelletti on 24 June 2016 /


EU Emission Trading System: Our 5 recommendations for a sensible use of the "Modernisation Fund"
by David Donnerer on 19 April 2016 /


Performance énergétique des bâtiments : Les villes finlandaises soutiennent la campagne Display et demandent des règles claires concernant la certification volontaire européenne
by on 1er avril 2016 /


Energy performance label: Finnish cities support the Display label and call for clearer rules for the voluntary EU scheme
by Ian Turner on 31 March 2016 /


Review of Energy Efficiency Directive: strengthen the local energy savings potential
by David Donnerer on 9 February 2016 /


L'Union européenne entre les mains des Pays-Bas : un semestre d'opportunités !
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 26 janvier 2016 /


The EU in Dutch hands: A semester of opportunities!
by Miriam Eisermann on 26 January 2016 /


Local elected leaders urge European Commission to reshape energy governance architecture
by Alix Bolle on 16 November 2015 /


New Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy: EU Institutions strengthen alliance with cities
by Floriane Cappelletti on 16 October 2015 /


Nouvelle Convention des Maires pour le Climat et l'Energie : alliance villes / institutions européennes renforcée
by Floriane Cappelletti on 16 octobre 2015 /


The new EU Energy Market Design: how local authorities could get better access
by Miriam Eisermann on 8 October 2015 /


EU after-summer policy wrap-up
by Miriam Eisermann on 5 October 2015 /


EU Smart Cities Agenda should push for an energy transition with cities and their citizens at the core
by Floriane Cappelletti on 21 September 2015 /


Launch of the largest ever consultation on the future of the Covenant of Mayors
by Floriane Cappelletti on 29 July 2015 /


Plantons le décor... du débat sur la sécurité énergétique au Parlement européen
by Alix Bolle on 19 mai 2015 /


Setting the scene: The European Parliament’s debate on energy security
by Alix Bolle on 19 May 2015 /


Juncker Plan: European Parliament decides to support local energy efficiency projects!
by Alix Bolle on 15 April 2015 /


L'Union de l'énergie partiellement éclipsée par les "Nations de l'énergie"
by Floriane Cappelletti on 20 mars 2015 /


EIB should increase its focus on energy efficiency and renewables at local level
by Admin on 19 mars 2015 /


Reporterre : Une minute, une question à Claire Roumet
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 13 mars 2015 /


"Nous avons besoin de votre énergie positive" : le Vice-Président de la Commission européenne rencontre les maires d'Energy Cities
by Floriane Cappelletti on 10 mars 2015 /


"We need your positive energy": EU Commission Vice President Šefčovič meets Energy Cities mayors
by Alix Bolle on 9 March 2015 /


EEFIG report identifies ways to drive new finance for energy efficiency investments
by Floriane Cappelletti on 27 February 2015 /


L'Union de l'énergie ne peut pas fonctionner sans les villes et les citoyens
by Floriane Cappelletti on 26 février 2015 /


Energy Union – It can’t work without cities and citizens
by Floriane Cappelletti on 26 February 2015 /


L"Union européenne de l'énergie" ne peut ignorer certaines réalités
by Blandine Pidoux on 5 janvier 2015 /


The « Energy Union » should be grounded in today’s reality
by Miriam Eisermann on 5 January 2015 /




Related articles for Energy efficiency / Efficacité énergétique

New PUBLENEF Energy Efficiency Roadmaps support policy makers in taking action!
by David Donnerer on 11 May 2017 /


Séminaire franco-nordique « Réseaux de chaleur et de froid de demain », le 8 juin à Paris
by Blandine Pidoux on 11 mai 2017 /


District energy of tomorrow : French-Nordic collaborative seminar, Paris 8th June
by Blandine Pidoux on 11 May 2017 /


Quel avenir pour la politique européenne sur l’efficacité énergétique dans le cadre du "Clean Energy package" ?
by David Donnerer on 2 mai 2017 /


What prospects for EU energy efficiency policy with the Clean Energy Package?
by David Donnerer on 2 May 2017 /


The Union of Communities of Armenia joins Energy Cities !
by Blandine Pidoux on 19 avril 2017 /


#Stuttgart2017 Final programme online!
by Blandine Pidoux on 31 March 2017 /


Energy Renovation Match-making Forum in Paris
by Floriane Cappelletti on 28 March 2017 /


Launch of the Efficient Buildings thematic community 'MEDNICE'
by Miriam Eisermann on 16 March 2017 /


100%RES - Recommendation 3 : Funding renewable energy production and energy efficiency
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 7 March 2017 /


Just released! Two new guidebooks on financing the energy renovation of public and residential buildings
by Blandine Pidoux on 21 February 2017 /


Site visit - Condominium energy retrofitting in Paris : It takes trust, entrepreneurship and ambition!
by Floriane Cappelletti on 25 January 2017 /


The low-carbon future starts in buildings: Display® Campaign presented at COP 22
by Ian Turner on 24 novembre 2016 /


First Net Zero Energy Buildings in Hadera (Israel), an example to follow
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 27 octobre 2016 /


Premiers bâtiments "zéro-énergie" à Hadera (Israël), un exemple à suivre
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 27 octobre 2016 /


Le prêt vert bruxellois : une autre incitation pour encourager les citoyens de Bruxelles à rénover leur logement
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 18 octobre 2016 /


Vers des villes 100 % énergies renouvelables
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 26 septembre 2016 /


Rénovation performante d’écoles : un guide pour faire mieux
by Blandine Pidoux on 5 juillet 2016 /


High-performance renovation of schools : a toolkit to do much better
by Blandine Pidoux on 5 July 2016 /


Riga met en place un dispositif de soutien pour la rénovation de 6 000 logements
by Floriane Cappelletti, Jana Cicmanova on 1er juillet 2016 /


Riga to support the energy renovation of 6,000 houses
by Jana Cicmanova on 1 July 2016 /


Efficacité énergétique et financement ESCO à Niš
by David Donnerer on 15 juin 2016 /


Energy Efficiency and ESCO financing: Niš LE(A)DS the way
by David Donnerer on 15 June 2016 /


Le Fonds Climat d'Almada devient renouvelable
by Floriane Cappelletti on 7 juin 2016 /


Almada's Less Carbon Climate Fund becomes revolving
by Jana Cicmanova on 7 June 2016 /


How to make Europe number 1 in Energy Efficiency?
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 24 May 2016 /


L'efficacité énergétique toujours pas une priorité partout en Europe: enquête d'Energy Efficiency Watch3
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 20 avril 2016 /


Energy efficiency implemented too slowly in Europe: a status report from “Energy Efficiency Watch3”
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 20 avril 2016 /


Performance énergétique des bâtiments : Les villes finlandaises soutiennent la campagne Display et demandent des règles claires concernant la certification volontaire européenne
by on 1er avril 2016 /


Energy performance label: Finnish cities support the Display label and call for clearer rules for the voluntary EU scheme
by Ian Turner on 31 March 2016 /


A Stuttgart, les propriétaires de maisons individuelles peuvent bénéficier d'un pack rénovation "clé-en-main"
by Floriane Cappelletti on 31 mars 2016 /


In Stuttgart, private home owners can enjoy 'care-free' energy renovation package
by Floriane Cappelletti on 31 March 2016 /


Energy-renovation of houses : In Bordeaux Metropole, 85% of households fit requirements for a dedicated bank loan !
by Floriane Cappelletti on 17 March 2016 /


Rénovation énergétique du secteur résidentiel : à Bordeaux Métropole, 85% des foyers sont éligibles pour un prêt dédié !
by Floriane Cappelletti on 17 mars 2016 /


La ville portugaise d'Águeda crée un Fonds local pour l'Efficacité Energétique et la Gestion de l'Eau
by Floriane Cappelletti on 11 février 2016 /


Portuguese city of Águeda sets up a local Fund for Energy and Water Efficiency
by Jana Cicmanova on 11 February 2016 /


Review of Energy Efficiency Directive: strengthen the local energy savings potential
by David Donnerer on 9 February 2016 /


Koprivnica crée le premier fonds renouvelable pour l'énergie de Croatie
by Floriane Cappelletti on 28 janvier 2016 /


Croatia's first local energy revolving fund is in Koprivnica!
by Jana Cicmanova on 28 January 2016 /


Convention des Maires : les membres d'Energy Cities remplissent leurs engagements en matière de réduction de CO2
by Floriane Cappelletti on 27 janvier 2016 /


Energy Cities’ members delivering on their Covenant of Mayors CO2 reduction commitments
by David Donnerer on 25 January 2016 /


Tbilisi (Georgia): energy policy for the people
by Miriam Eisermann on 15 January 2016 /


Energy efficiency: Rustavi among the best municipalities in Georgia
by Blandine Pidoux on 23 December 2015 /


La ville de Parme encourage ses citoyens à entreprendre des travaux de rénovation énergétique
by Floriane Cappelletti on 17 décembre 2015 /


City of Parma encourages citizens to undertake energy renovation work in their homes
by Floriane Cappelletti on 17 December 2015 /


COCON 63 : Massive renovation operation
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 10 November 2015 /


COCON 63 : opération de rénovation massive
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 10 novembre 2015 /


La ville de Lorient décroche le label Cit'ergie
by Blandine Pidoux on 27 octobre 2015 /


City of Lorient getting the European Energy Award Label at the first attempt
by Blandine Pidoux on 27 octobre 2015 /


Echanges d'expérience transfrontaliers autour de projets de quartiers durables en Suisse, Rhône-Alpes et Franche-Comté
by Laura Guérin on 24 juin 2015 /


Resilient cities #2: Bristol, Toronto and El Hierro aim for self sufficiency
by Floriane Cappelletti on 13 May 2015 /


Cit'ergie, 13 collectivités récompensées
by Béatrice Alcaraz on 19 février 2015 /




The team

Blog Categories
Line
Last posts
Line
Archives
separator
You are here: Energy Cities, Local authorities in energy transition. > English > Blog

About us
In a nutshell
Governance
Members
Team
Jobs
Internships
Come and meet us
EU Policy
Join
How to join
Why we joined
Actions
Initiatives & Campaigns
Projects
Workshops
Webinars
Annual Conferences
Study Tours
Resources
Energy transition: our proposals
Best practices from members
Publications
EC INFO Magazine
Newsletter
Blog
Media
Press releases
Articles
Communication tools

 
Addresses Energy Cities - Besançon Energy Cities - Bruxelles